Go To Top

Anarchy Reigns Story Mode Detailed

Take control of Mad World's Jack in the single player mode of Platinum's new online action title.

MadWorld's Jack is the main character in Anarchy Reigns.

Platinum and Sega unveiled Anarchy Reigns (known in Japan as Max Anarchy) a couple of weeks back but didn't really provide solid details on the game. Famitsu has just what we're looking for this week, with first details on the game's background story and story mode.

Anarchy Reigns is set in the far future. The world is, as always, in a state of chaos. Battles between nations for resources have sometimes developed into wars, complete with limited use of nuclear, biological and chemical weapons. Terrorism has also seen an increase. Peace and safety were forever lost. Viruses spread through the seas from developing countries and lead to the formation of diseases of unknown origin.

Humankind survived through the use of nano machines and the development of cybernetic organisms. But humanity was still unable to break free from chaos.

The story begins in the ruined city of Altanbra. This city serves as the play area. You'll find a variety of land forms and gimmicks. The big feature, though, is that the city will change in real time. Bridges will collapse, trailers will come crashing through, and there will even be natural disasters.

In the game's story mode, you take control of main character Jack, who comes to the game from Platinum's Wii title MadWorld. You'll lead Jack in exploration of Altanbra. Your main activity involves clearing missions that are given to you around the city. You can freely select whether or not you want to take these missions on, but clearing certain missions will advance the story.

Jack is a battle expert with special forces experience who makes use of a dual bladed chain saw. He's part of an organization called Chasers, who take on missions that the police can't solve. He's 75% cyborg. He was once a heavy smoker, but has quit.

Jack's chainsaw is named "Gator Tooth." It's what's known as a "Killer Weapon." The game's characters all have these special weapons which they're particularly adept at using.

Those characters include Big Bull, Zero and Sasha, all of whom were first introduced when Anarchy Reigns was first unveiled. In story mode, these characters serve as rivals who face off against Jack.

Famitsu provides some background details the three:

Big Bull
Four years back, Big Bull suffered a great injury, so he got rid of his body and moved his brain into a cyborg body. His Killer Weapon is Jet Hammer.
Zero wears a Nano Machine Suit, which strengthens his stealth abilities, allowing him to be good at sneaking missions. He's been fighting mutants and battle cyborgs in order to acquire data for the development of a new weapon. Zero is just his code name. His Killer Weapon is the twin blades Oni Maru and Juzu Maru.
An agent with the first strike team at the maximum security area of the Bureau of Public Safety. She's a master of BPS Fighting, a combat that makes use of a new Nano Machine Suit created by BPS. Her Killer Weapon is Snow Spikes.

When playing the game in online mode, all the characters mentioned here become playable. There will be other playable characters as well, Famitsu hints. Further details will come in a following update.

Anarchy Reigns is currently 75% complete, Famitsu reports. The game is due for Fall 2011 release.

See our Anarchy Reigns content archive for all the previously released videos (showing all four of the above characters) and screenshots.

Loading comments. If comments don't load, make sure Javascript is on in your browser.

Icons by Glyphicons. Used under CC-BY license.