Go To Top

This Year's Game Designers Award Voters Announced

Masahiro Sakurai, Shinji Mikami, Hideki Kamiya, Fumito Ueda and other famous developers to select award winner this year.

Will an international game win again this year, or will the voting panel select something homegrown?

Last year's Japan Game Awards ceremony featured the first ever Game Designers Award category. Major game creators voted on their pic for the top game of the prior year. Heavy Rain won (details here).

The Game Designers Awards will be a part of the Japan Game Awards again this year. Today CESA announced the voter list.

These twelve will select the recipient of the second Game Designers Award.

  • Kazutoshi Ida (Grasshopper Manufacturer)
  • Jiro Ishii (Level-5)
  • Fumito Ueda (Sony Computer Entertainment)
  • Masayoshi Kikuchi (Sega)
  • Hifumi Kouno (Nude Maker)
  • Masahiro Sakurai (Sora)
  • Ryutaro Takahashi (Nintendo)
  • Hideki Kamiya (Platinum Games)
  • Shuu Takumi (Capcom)
  • Keiichiro Toyama (Sony Computer Entertainment)
  • Jin Fujisawa (Square Enix)
  • Shinji Mikami (Tango)

This is the same as last year's list, with the exception of newcomer Ryutaro Takahashi.

As with last year, Sakurai is the head of the voting panel. Each voter will give qualifying games up to 10 points. The game with the most points wins the award.

Games that were released from April 1, 2010 through March 31, 2011 qualify. Voters cannot select their own games.

The winner will be announced during a stage event on the first day (9/15) of the Tokyo Game Show.

Loading comments. If comments don't load, make sure Javascript is on in your browser.

Icons by Glyphicons. Used under CC-BY license.