Go To Top

Final Fantasy, Gundam, and Battlefield win at Future Game Awards

Social game wins first "special" award for annual awards event.


This year's Future Game Awards had the usual mix of Final Fantasys and Monster Hunters. But for the first time, the award was also given to a social game.

Part of CESA's annual awards series that sees announcement at the Tokyo Game Show, the Future Awards are given out based off popularity. Attendees at Tokyo Game Show's first three days cast votes on games that are either announced or put on display at the event. A panel selects the final results based off the voting.

This year, eleven titles were given Future Game Awards:

  • Asura's Wrath (Capcom, PS3/360)
  • Legend of Heroes Ao no Kiseki (Falcom, PSP)
  • Gundam Extreme VS (Namco Bandai, PS3)
  • Dragon's Dogma (Capcom, PS3/360)
  • Binary Domain (Sega, PS3/360)
  • Battlefield 3 (Electronic Arts, PS3/360/PC)
  • Final Fantasy XIII-2 (Square Enix, PS3/360)
  • Final Fantasy Type-0 (Square Enix, PSP)
  • Phantasy Star Online 2 (Sega, PC)
  • Monster Hunter G (Capcom, 3DS)
  • Dragon's Collection (Konami, mobile)

Dragon's Collection is the social game mentioned above. The game actually received the Future Game Awards "Special Award," which was put in place just this year.

The awards were handed out at a ceremony held at the Makuhari Messe on the 18th. See Impress Watch for photos from the event.

Loading comments. If comments don't load, make sure Javascript is on in your browser.

Icons by Glyphicons. Used under CC-BY license.